## MONTGOMERY COUNTY ESD 1 MONTGOMERY COUNTY, TEXAS

The Board of Commissioners of Montgomery County ESD 1, convened in session via video conference call on July 15, 2020 with the following Board Members to-wit:

Members Present: J. Steven Weisinger, President

Chuck Frank, Vice President Sharene Carr, Treasurer

David Cooper, Assistant Treasurer/Secretary

The regular meeting of Montgomery County ESD 1 was called to order on July 15, 2020 at 6:02 P.M. by President J. Steven Weisinger. All members were present, therefore constituting a quorum. Also present were Fire Chief Jason Oliphant, Assistant Chief Shane Houser, Office Administrator Crystal LaCaze, Battalion Chief Jeff McDonald, Attorney John Peeler, Accountant Brian Desilets, Bookkeeper Santos Acuna, Levi Love and Gari Lynn Hessong from L Squared.

No Public Comments were offered under item 2 of the agenda.

Addressing item 3 of the agenda regarding minutes from the prior meeting, the Board took action on the following:

Upon a motion made by Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Cooper, the Board voted unanimously to accept and approve the regular meeting minutes held on June 17, 2020.

Addressing item 4 of the agenda regarding financial matters, the Board took action on the following: Upon a motion made by Commissioner Cooper and seconded by Commissioner Carr, the Board voted unanimously to accept the bookkeepers report as presented by Accountant Brian Desilets and to approve payment of the District's monthly bills.

Addressing 5a of the agenda – Chief Oliphant announced to the Board that MCESD 1 Building Committee met with L Squared regarding the Logistics/Maintenance Facility on June 30, 2020. Chief Oliphant and the building committee would like permission to move forward with L Squared on a Design Bid Build. Chief Oliphant introduced Levi Love to the Board who presented L Squared's proposal for the Design Bid Build.

Upon a motion made by Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Cooper, the Board voted unanimously to accept and approve the fee schedule for services on the Logistics/Maintenance Facility from L Squared totaling \$5,500.00.

Upon a motion made by Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Carr, the Board voted unanimously to authorize Fire Chief Jason Oliphant to sign the L Squared contract as presented.

Addressing 5d of the agenda – Chief Oliphant announced to the Board that Attorney John Peeler did research the annexation notice from the City of Conroe and the property owners requested the annexation, no motion is needed.

Addressing item 6a of the agenda, No action was taken.

Addressing item 6b of the agenda, John Peeler reported on Truth and Taxation regarding the new SB2. Ms. Tammy McRae is requesting the board vote on using the Voter Approval Rate factor of 3.5% over No New Revenue for M&O versus using the 8% factor under the Tax Code provision allowing such for a disaster declaration, such as the current COVID-19 declared statewide disaster.

Upon a motion made by Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Cooper, the Board voted unanimously to stay at the normal 3.5% factor in calculating the Voter Approval Rate and not make the choice to use the disaster declaration.

Addressing item 6c of the agenda, Commissioner Frank shared with the Board that the webinar he and Commissioner Carr attended for the Sales Tax Forecast webinar, he felt was quite valuable regarding growth and why sales tax is much better now than the past.

Under items 7-10 of the agenda, under Government Code sections 551.071, 551.072 and 551.074 related to closed sessions, no action was taken as no closed session was needed.

Addressing item 12 of the Agenda, Chief Oliphant reported the monthly call volume report. Chief Oliphant also reported that we currently have one member out due to Covid-19. All other members are back to normal schedule.

No requests for agenda items were made for the next meeting under item 13 of the agenda.

There being no further business, upon a motion made by Commissioner Carr and seconded by Commissioner Cooper, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn at 7:16 P.M.

Crystal LaCaze

District Office Manager and Administrative Secretary Montgomery County ESD 1